Understanding Uncached Requests

Disclaimer: I’ve managed web servers hands on from the terminal since 1995, but I am a complete newbie at CDN’s and CF is new. So excuse my ignorant queries.

I got a pitch from CF sales campaign for Argo. But we usually want to understand the context and what’s happening before making a business decision to spend money, even if it appears to be “cheap” it will add up over time… and this uncached traffic thing is a 95% opaque.

the email campaign analyzed our site with this result

Total requests: 7,050,022
Uncached requests: 4,844,894
Total bandwidth: 634.51 Gigabytes
Total uncached bandwidth: 392.44 Gigabytes

In our world, before making any decisions… it all about logs!

1. What exactly are these uncached requests?
  2. what files?
  3. when?
  4. Are some files cached and then later served uncached?
  5. Are some files uncached and later cached?
  6. Over what time span does either 4 or 5 above happen and why?
  7. uncached from all CF CDN servers in all countries? or only some countries?
  8. Is it about mimetypes? (file extensions)?
  9. What about our heavy media files: PDFs, Mobi, ePub and MP3 files? Are they cached, uncached?
  10. Are the uncached request to our blog, because of our page rules? (WordPress + CF was so buggy we turned off caching for the blog until our R & D figures out what the H… is going on with WP it was a sink hole of time and energy…)

Seems CF is fishing for us to buy in to services, which is OK, it’s a great service and they need a revenue stream… I get that… no problem there… but really, to make an informed decision, I need to see exactly what is happening.

In our world, before making any decisions… it all about logs!

Information about the requests from Cloudflare should be in your logs (Apache or NGINX) of the webserver. Any request to your origin would be an uncached request.

1. What exactly are these uncached requests?