Zero-Downtime Failover to show a maintenance page when website is inaccessible

Hi everyone,

I’m pretty new in Cloudflare and in this community.

I actually started with Cloudflare Free Plan and things worked pretty well.

Then, I was demanded with a project and that would require that I upgraded Cloudflare to the Pro version.

To be honest, I thought it would be an easy project and that I’d be able to get some support from Cloudflare to get that done, but unfortunately, it was quite the opposite.

I keep receiving messages from Cloudflare sales asking for a meeting but I can’t get support from them, so I decided to try getting some help here.

We have 2 marketing websites that are hosted in the same web hosting provider.

From time to time, this provider fails and our websites go offline, which cause a huge problem for us because clients use that to login to our system.

Then, I was asked to find a way to show a webpage with a message to our users saying that the website is in maintenance and showing links to login to our system.

I found the Zero-Downtime Failover feature in Cloudflare and would like to use that.

I tried to ask them Cloudflare support the pre-requisites to get that going were, but didn’t get anything back.

So, I presume I need to find a new web hosting only to host those 2 maintenance pages, but I’m not sure if I need to host them in a VPS with individual IPs or if it could be the cheapest plan that provides a shared infrastructure.

That could seem like a silly question for people who work with websites, but that’s not entirely my case,

When I was reading about the feature in Cloudflare, it was saying I need to provide a 2nd IP address for the 2nd server location for the failover to work.

I understood this feature would redirect traffic to a 2nd location when the 1st one is offline and switch that back when everything goes back to normal.

Does anyone have any documentation or step-by-step on how to do that?

Thanks,

Carlos