Wp-config no longer viewable or editable

Hello.

I’m new to hosting security. Somewhere along the line a day ago, I must’ve made an inappropriate change to one or more settings in Wordfence Pro plugin, WHM WordPress Toolkit, or Cloudflare configuration, because now, I have locked myself out of being able to edit or view wp-config.php. When I attempt to edit in File Manager, the loading popup just spins until I reload the page. If I simply attempt to view wp-config.php, I get a Cloudflare popup indicating that the request was blocked, giving a Ray ID. The last bit seems to indicate it’s a setting on Cloudflare, but no searches on the Cloudflare help knowledge bases resulted in anything helpful, and a response from a Cloudflare support ticket just directed me to information I’ve already read. I turned on activity logging and produced the error again, but the Cloudflare activity log shows no errors. I’ve also tried to correct the problem by reverting any changes I made In WordPress Toolket Security Measures, but the problem remains. I’m the site owner, and I can view and edit all other files, .htaccess, etc.

Any direction would be appreciated.

kalqlate

Good morning, I just came across the same error in my Cpanel.
Turns out that Cloudflare was blocking the IP address of my webserver when I wanted to edit the wp-config file.

I went to Cloudflare dashboard and to security and then overview and check for blocks. Noticed my webserver was there as a block. Then went to firewall rules and on the right, there are IP Access Rules.
I then added my webserver IP with the Allow Action and was then able to access the wp-config.php file.

Hope this helps.

1 Like

Hi, Sandro. Thank you for the reply.

Attached is the Cloudflare message. Your link simply leads to my account dashboard with nothing referencing wp-config.php.