Worker - Redirecting /* to /ajax/libs/*

ExpertTip

Hi guys,

Could someone have a read over this code I’ve written for a worker and confirm if it does what I think it should do? I have never used workers before so this is completely new to me.

This code should redirect any path that doesn’t start with “/ajax/libs” so that it will be prefixed with “/ajax/libs”.

addEventListener('fetch', event => {
  event.respondWith(fetchAndApply(event.request))
})

function fetchAndApply(request) {
  const requestURL = new URL(request.url)
  if(!requestURL.pathname.startsWith("/ajax/libs")) requestURL.pathname = "/ajax/libs" + requestURL.pathname
  return fetch(requestURL.toString(), request)
}

Thanks,
Matt.
CM @ cdnjs

Should work!

The only thing is that the .toString() in the return shouldn’t be needed.

Ah okay, does fetch take a URL object okay? I saw from examples strings were normally passed as the first argument?

It works both ways, an URL object works, a string works as well. It simply adds a piece of code that is not needed, can work with it, but less code is usually always better.

Late arrival.

function fetchAndApply(request) {
  if(!requestURL.pathname.startsWith("/ajax/libs")) 
    { 
    requestURL.pathname = "/ajax/libs" + requestURL.pathname
    }
  return fetch(requestURL)
}

})

Any reason for adding the curly brackets back in? Just extra bytes that aren’t needed?
And does the original request not need to be passed back into fetch? The Cf examples seemed to always do it?

As far as I know the brackets are just extra, the request in the fetch helps with all the various headers and eventual cookies or body if it’s a POST, it’s usually best practice to keep unless you really don’t want it.

Maybe @adaptive has a reason I don’t know.

{ } is just part of secret society demand. @matteo @matthew
If the task was GET .js… files from a specific path, I was filtering out POST, for security reasons.