Worker Recipe: Cache purge proxy

The following service worker example works as a proxy to the Cloudflare API, allowing you to purge cache for any zone within your Cloudflare account by just sending a request to domain.com/__purge_cache?zone=[zone_id]

The benefits?

• Easily purge cache upon deployment by calling the /__purge_cache endpoint through a webhook
  • No need to expose global API keys to third party (deployment) tools

Note:
You may want to add further limitations by purging cache by cache tags, limit the script to only work for certain zones, or implement some sort of authentication/request verification.

7 Likes

Thanks for sharing! This will be really useful :smiley:

Especially when caching everything!

1 Like

I just added this to a couple of sites I manage. Now when they update content, they can click on a bookmark to immediately purge the cache.

4 Likes

Hi @martin2,

Thank you for providing this, this is great! I’m pretty new to setting up and using Workers, but my initial question about this would just be does this have to be set up with the route *example.com/* or can it be any route? What route do you recommend it is used with to work best? Hopefully, it doesn’t need to be used with the *example.com/* route as we’re starting to utilize that route on some of our sites that call upon a Worker with a Cache Everything script.

Thank you.

I actually have this on my “primary” zone. And because it has my Global API Key and email address, it will work for any zone in my account. So, naturally, I keep it a secret. The bookmark I mentioned is something like
purge.example.com/__purge_cache?zone=[zone_id]

but with actual zone ID in my bookmark. So I might have a Bookmark folder called PURGE, and in it is Domain A, Domain B, Domain C, etc. Each with that URL, but with their own Zone ID.