Worker code to manage redirects

Hi community,
I’m new with worker usage and I’m trying to migrate some Apache HTTPD reverse proxy pass directives into cloudflare and I’m using worker for the scope.
All is working as expected with exception of cases where the origin is responding with a 302/301 redirect code.
In this case the worker is transferring to the client browser the 302 code and the location communicated by the origin and in the next call the client browser is pointing directly to the external location not crossing anymore my worker.
Apache reverse proxy pass directive is instead rewriting the FQDN coming from the origin with the worker FQDN making the proxy completly trasparent.
Is there a way to get exactly the same behavior with the worker?
I have done many search on the internet and in the community but with no success, probably I’m not using the right keywords. I really appreciate everyone can indicate the right way. Thanks in advance!

Hi there,

I’m not sure I understand your requirements. Is the goal to follow the redirect with the worker instead?
If so, you can specify that redirects should be followed. Here’s an example:

addEventListener('fetch', event => {
  event.respondWith(handleRequest(event.request))
})

async function handleRequest(incomingRequest) {
    const outgoingRequest = new Request(
        incomingRequest.url,
        new Request(incomingRequest, {
            redirect: 'follow'
        })
    );

return await fetch(outgoingRequest);
}

Related documentation:

The redirect mode to use: follow, error, or manual. The fetch method will automatically follow redirects if the redirect mode is set to follow. If set to manual, the 3xx redirect response will be returned to the caller as-is. The default for a new Request object is follow. Note, however, that the incoming Request property of a FetchEvent will have redirect mode manual.

Take care.