Web Traffic Analytics and Firewall sections - various improvement suggestions

I’ve been using Cloudflare for a couple of years on a website which averages around 750k pageviews per month.

Recently we’ve been facing probably the most common problem there is - spam and bot traffic. It has been rather frustrating attempting to use a combination of Cloudflare’s Analytics and Firewall sections to diagnose and curb this traffic and I’d like to explain why.

Firstly, the Analytics section. On the surface it looks OK - you can see traffic by country, browser, operating system, etc. which can actually be useful in diagnosing where a problem is coming from. For example, recently I was able to see a huge spike in requests from Russia (not a usual market for us) and many requests with an operating system and/or browser of “Unknown”.

However that’s where the usefulness ends. In the Analytics section you can’t actually do anything with this data; it’s just nice to look at. This section should be tightly integrated with the Firewall section with a button which essentially says “Create firewall rule from this filter set”. That would actually be useful, but it doesn’t exist.

In my case, I know the traffic is coming from one or two specific IP addresses. But I didn’t get that information from Cloudflare’s Analytics section - I had to get it the old-fashioned way, trawling through Apache logs on my origin server. If the Analytics section allowed me to group and filter by IP address, I could have immediately seen the offending IPs sending thousands of requests - way more than any other “legit” IP address - and instantly firewalled them.