Using the correct header for my website!?

Hi there guys,

I’m really new to CDN and after enabling it, I read somewhere that I should use the correct headers so that I avoid serving duplicate content?
I contacted my hosting provider, (HostGator), who told me that I first need to get in touch here and then go back to them with correct headers so they can apply them, (or I could do it if given instructions).
I’m really lost here and not sure if:
a) I should bother to do this?
b) Is it somthing that I need to do or is done automatically upon enabling the cdn service?

I’m on the Free plan so far and good at following clear instructions. I searched the forum, but I’m not sure exactly what I’m looking for. All I know is that I don’t want to be serving duplicate content, if that is the case!
My site is this!

Thanks for any help on this!!

Hi Skopelos,

The issue of caching is hardly related to duplicate content. If you do a site:example.com search on Google with your domain you should see whether or not there are any duplicate pages currently being indexed.

If you navigate to your site with Dev Tools open (F12 or Ctrl-J in most browsers), and select the Network tab, you should be able to see the headers as they are being returned from your origin/Cloudflare to your browser.

Currently your static assets, such as images, JS and CSS files, are being cached by Cloudflare, which means your origin is sending the proper header (or at least not sending the wrong ones).

Static files not hosted by your origin, such as Google Fonts and other third-party files, are never cached by Cloudflare.