Using Cloudflare SSL

I’m new to Cloudflare. Everything looks very simple but I am confused about SSL.

In the SSL / TLS section, there are edge certificate (universal ssl), client certificate and origin server.

Is Universal SSL a certificate as secure as let’s encrypte? Can I just use this certificate instead of let’s encrypte? Is it enough? Are there any differences? Or can both be used together?

Thank you.

You should definitely use both (Let’s Encrypt & Universal) together. Your server should have SSL/TLS for your site before you add it to Cloudflare in order for it to be secure.

1 Like

Thank you for the reply. So what exactly is the universal ssl task? Can’t SSL services in Cloudflare take the role of let’s encrypte? (for example origin server or client certificate)

Cloudflare can generate an origin certificate for the server housing a site that’s proxied by Cloudflare. But the proxy server itself also needs a certificate. That’s the Universal SSL certificate.

1 Like

If I got it right, universal SSL provides encryption between browser and cloudflare, while Let’s encrypte is between server and cloudflare. Cloudflare does not provide any additional protection for let’s encrypte.

Is it correct?

That’s exactly it.

In some sources I read, we had to buy a cloudflare pro plan to use certificates other than cloudflare ssl. Isn’t that necessary to use let’s encrypt?

You can always use Let’s Encrypt on your server. But, if for some reason, you want to use your own certificate on the proxy server for your visitors, you would need a Business Plan. But that’s rarely necessary.

So can I use cloudflare “origin server” certificate instead of let’s encrypt? Do I still need to enable universal ssl for this?

CF origin server certificate and let’s encrypte do the same thing. Is that so?

Hello, I connected my website with cloudflare and created a cloudflare origin ca certificate for my site. I added the certificate from Cpanel.