Unable to use Cloudflare DNS proxy with Let's encrypt certificate

Hi all, as the title says I am getting the error ‘ERR_SSL_VERSION_OR_CIPHER_MISMATCH’ when using Cloudflare’s proxy on my domain.

I am totally new to this type of settings so I know that this is a issue on my end.
This is my current situation:

• Registered domains:
  • “lightdestory com” & “www.lightdestory com”
  • ssh lightdestory com
  • “mensaersu projects lightdestory com” & “www mensaersu projects lightdestory com”
    (replaces space with a dot)
    All these domains points to a single server.

While creating the certificates with certbot I has some problems like TLS hand-shaking or bad NXDOMAIN for the www.* domains, the problem was that CF’s proxy was active, so I grayed out all the DNS record on the DNS tab and I have successfully obtained the certificates for my domains from Let’s encrypt.

Now when I enable the proxy I get the above error.
I am unable to use CF’s CDN and other services.

How can I fix this?

Currently all the DNS record are set as DNS Only and my IP is exposed but at least the website is accessible.

Thanks for your support,
LightDestory.

Hi @LightDestory,

Here is some info on the error, my first thought would be to check the SSL/TLS > Edge certificate section to see if it says ‘Active certificate’ or ‘Certificate pending validation’. If it doesn’t say active, you can disable and re-enable Universal SSL at the bottom of that page (covered in the tip linked below).