Unable to delete email forwarding after disabling it

When I went to remove email forwarding, it asked if I wanted to disable or delete it. I chose to disable it as I wanted to be sure my new email provider would work out before removing it entirely. Now that I have done that, I don’t see a way to delete the feature completely. The only option I get now is to fix the records and re-enable. How can I fully remove the feature now?