Subdomain's not working even though the DNS record exists

Hey there, I’m having an issue with accessing the subdomain that I created on CPanel (GoDaddy). After I changed the nameservers to Cloudflare, I made sure I created the DNS record for my subdomain, which is africa.bowenimmigration.com. This subdomain is also connected to WordPress Multisite. The record type is A with the same IP as my domain.

When I am trying to access the subdomain, it returns the 403 Forbidden error. Sometimes it says it couldn’t be found on this server as well.

I am not really a developer or something, and I am dealing with this for the first time on behalf of my employer, so please bear with me if this is a very easy-to-resolve issue :see_no_evil:

I also have a wildcard created on CPanel with no record on Cloudflare DNS, can it be the problem? Like a conflict?

Thanks, I appreciate your help!

As far as I see, the 403 forbidden error comes directly from your host/origin.

Maybe the CHMOD rules at your host/origin server or .htaccess file?

Does something change when you temporarly switch from :orange: cloud to :grey: cloud for your sub-domain africa DNS record at Cloudflare dashboard for your domain?

Maybe this article could provide you some more information what for to check out:

Hi, thanks a lot for the quick response.

I tried switching the cloud to grey but nothing changed, I still get the 403 error.

I double-checked the .htaccess file and all the rules are written as WordPress Multisite network setup instructed (I basically copied and pasted the rules to the file).

I am going to read the article you attached, thanks! Hopefully, it helps.

Thanks a lot!

I am afraid it has to be firstly resolved at your host/origin server.

May I ask if you have tried contacting your hosting provider regarding this issue too?