SSL Problem with Shopify


I have the same inconvenience as a lot of people regarding transferring domain to shopify and having problems with SSL. Since Shopify support is just useless and havent been able to do something, I opened a ticket last night in cloudflare but it was inmediately closed.

My ticket number is: 2339232

I’m desperate for a solution since this has been going for just a lot of time and I need to get my store going.

Thank you to the person that can save me. :slight_smile:

Hi @user16489,

Do you know who the previous provider for your domain was that used Cloudflare? If so, please contact them and ask them to remove any Cloudflare configurations for your domain, specifically SSL for SaaS / Custom Hostnames.

If you can’t get in touch with the old provider, Ask Shopify to follow the process to create an HTTP ownership_verification record.

If you try both those and have no success with either, let us know and we’ll have to escalate your Cloudflare ticket so Cloudflare Support can ask you to verify domain ownership of the domain by adding a txt record to the domain.

Thank you for your answer. I will talk to both and will get back!

Hi domjh,

I had no success with either. Digital Ocean and shopify are both just useless, I don’t know what else to do. They tell me they are contacting technical team but I have been waiting for days… No answer.

I’ve added the ticket to the escalation queue.

Thank you sdayman!

1 Like

Hello sdayman,

I haven’t received further information or email, and ticket still shows as solved. Should I do something that I have missed or just wait.


I am having the exact same problem. Cloudflare seems to be blocking the connection? “Domain is pointed to Shopify but did not return Shopify headers.”

It is very frustrating since we are people that have minimal knowledge on web (thats why we use novice services as shopify), and end up having to deal with this topics that are not just difficult but also companies say it is the others fault.

I’m right now agonizing to solve the issue. If i could just remove that domain and start with a new one it would be beautiful, unfortunately I can’t so I have to deal with this situation until I get it solved somehow.

Just keep digging, and if I get any answer or solution I will let you know.

It’s actually the fault of the last place you used that connected your domain to Cloudflare. You just didn’t realize it after you left that they didn’t remove your domain from their Cloudflare account. And now you’re about to do it again, but with Shopify. You’d think Shopify would be motivated to smooth out this process, but you’ve found out they’re just not interested.

1 Like

You are absolutely right @sdayman. I hope my ticket gets resolved by cloudflare team, because I’m agonizing with Digital Ocean and Shopify.

Thank you for your support.


After I yold Digital Ocean what you told me, this is what they answered:

Hello again,

Thanks for following up with us! After reviewing your account, we did notice that you had an App (sintiendohuellas) setup on App Platform long back with the custom domain “”. However, we did notice that the App is deleted and the custom domain will no longer be on App Platform.

We do use CloudFlare as our domain facilitator and when you did setup your custom domain, the SSL certificate was issued by the Cloudflare only. Once is the app is deleted, all the data will be purged and removed from our platform.

Refer to below link, which explains more details on your domain:

Looks like this SSL is no way related to the DigitalOcean and Cloudflare setup with App Platform. Hope this helps!

Please let us know if you have any additional questions, and have a wonderful day!

Sri Charan Madhavapeddi
Cloud Support Engineer

They keep saying everything was done accordingly…

I will keep insisting but I think the only one that can save me is CLOUDFLARE.

And there it is. Someone over there didn’t clean up. It would require that someone to dig through their Cloudflare configuration to remove your domain, but I doubt they’re willing to put in the effort. I do see it using Cloudflare from February through July of this year.

Cloudflare isn’t the only one, but they can certainly clean up someone else’s mess. It’s just going to take time for Support to work their way through the free plan escalation queue, as this isn’t a Billing, Registrar, or Login issue.

Hello @sdayman! Thank you for all your help!

Fortunately cloudflare team were able to give a solution to my problem. The only organization capable of giving solutions to the people, even though we are not the direct costumers. Shame on them, but I will take that into account in my future decisions.

I just wanted to point out that the domain is working but is not. The process has to be performed in both?

Thank you for your help.