SSL Errors when trying to redirect Subdomain from different Provider through Cloudflare

Hi everyone,

I have the following problem.

I got a Domain hosted at Hosteurope and I’m trying to redirect a Subdomain from Hosteurope to an A Record at Cloudflare, that points to my server with a Nextcloud instance behind a Nginx Proy Manager.

The current setup looks like this:
Domain jukz-rhauderfehn.de is hosted at Hosteurope
Domain spacedrive.io is hosted at Cloudflare
cloud.jukz-rhauderfehn.deCNAME @ Hosteurope pointing to endor.spacedrive.ioendor.spacedrive.io A Record at Cloudflare pointing to the IP of my server and using the Cloudflare Proxy → Nginx Proxy Manager forwarding to the Nextcloud Docker Container without using the Let’s Encrypt certificate.

In this configuration I get the “ERR_SSL_VERSION_OR_CIPHER_MISMATCH” error.

I also have another Nextcloud instance running on the server. This one is using a *.spacedrive.io subdomain and it works perfectly.

Since I’m new to self hosting I don’t really know where to start to troubleshoot this problem and I couldn’t really find any solutions, that apply to my setup.
If I need to provide further information, please let me know what would be helpful.

I’m really thankful for any help.

Welcome to the Cloudflare Community. :logodrop:

Does your Nginx Proxy Manager know how to handle requests that contain a cloud.jukz-rhauderfehn.de host header?

Does your Nginx Proxy Manager have a valid certificate for cloud.jukz-rhauderfehn.de?

The answer to both questions needs to be Yes.

Thank you!

Nginx Proxy Manager is configured to redirect incoming requests for ´cloud.jukz-rhauderfehn.de´ to the docker container running Nextcloud.

For the certificate: It doesn’t seem to make a difference if I use a LE cert or not. The error stays the same.

I can get it to work, if I disable the proxy from CF for ´endor.spacedrive.io´ and use the LE cert from the Nginx Proxy Manager.