SSL Errors - Untrusted Certificate

Hi,

I’m getting an intermittent error when trying to make a secure connection to my servers on port 443.

• I’m accessing the server(s) through a Cloudflare load-balancer (pool of two servers).
  • I have a Sectigo wildcard certificate installed on the servers
  • Traffic is not proxied through Cloudflare (DNS only, grey cloud icon both in the site’s DNS settings and in the Load Balancer settings).
  • In case it makes a difference, Cloudflare SSL is configured to be Full (Strict).

I’m pretty new to all this, and don’t understand how the connection can work sometimes and not others, and also whether or not the SSL settings in Cloudflare (Full, Strict) have any impact on the connection made.

The error i’m getting, when it occurs, indicates that the connection cannot be made due to an untrusted certificate.

I’m not certain whether this is genuinely an SSL/trust issue, or whether there is actually a problem with the configuration of the webserver. The fact that the connection works sometimes and other times not makes me think the “untrusted certificate” error is a red herring… but how can i be sure?

Please could someone assist me to troubleshoot? What should I be looking at / testing first?

Many thanks!

It’s hard to verify this without knowing the domain at all.

If Cloudflare is DNS only the certificate should be the Sectigo one, when the error is given check which certificate it serves.

Thanks - I have in the meantime done a simple “Certificate Check” on Digicert’s website and everything shows up green and trusted. The hostname resolves correctly, switching between the two origin servers, and none of the vulnerabilities
they check are present… it all looks good.

Would it cause an issue if one server was trying to connect to another using an IP address instead of a hostname? I noticed if I did a certificate check using the public IP instead of the hostname