SSL cUrl Error 51

Hello,

I am new to Cloudflare and I have come across a problem recently. I created a free SSL certificate via the admin panel and the website works well, but not the Wordpress administration. I can neither update nor install any plugins, I can’t preload cache as it just shows this error message:

"The following errors happened during gathering of the URLs to preload:

Preload encountered an error. Could not gather links on https://www.willflies.ovh because of the following error: cURL error 51: SSL: no alternative certificate subject name matches target host name ‘www.willflies.ovh’.

Sitemap preload encountered an error. Could not gather links on https://www.willflies.ovh/sitemap_index.xml because of the following error: cURL error 51: SSL: no alternative certificate subject name matches target host name ‘www.willflies.ovh’."

Could you guys help me please?

Thank you

Hi @vnecesany, sorry about the trouble. That error references your origin server. SSL on the crypto tab is set to Full (Strict) and there is no cert on the origin, can you set it to Flexible?

Hello @cloonan, thanks for your advice. I have done what you told me and now it seems to be working fine. Thank you very much :slight_smile:

Keep in mind your site is not secure any longer and content is transmitted in plain text between Cloudflare and your server. If you do not want that you’d need to configure a proper certificate on your server and switch back to Full.

Hi @sandro, I tried to go to Full SSL instead of that Strict and Flexible and it seems to be working so far. Thank you

Full will also work as you do have a certificate, albeit an invalid one for your domain. The most secure solution would be aforementioned configuration of a proper certificate and “Full strict”. But Full is definitely better than Flexible.