SSL 526 Error out of nowhere

Hello all. I’d set up a website a few months ago that has been chugging along just fine until now. I’ve changed no settings since, but happened to log on today and noticed the website displays an SSL error. I’d set up the website in accordance with the instructions kindly provided by @sandro, with SSL/TLS mode set to Full (strict). The website loads normally with SSL/TLS mode set to Full but this is obviously not ideal.

Not sure if it’s related but the Google sites dashboard is showing the connected domain (vup.plumbing) has an invalid DNS. No settings have been changed in the Cloudflare dashboard.

I am a complete noob with website administration and would greatly appreciate someone helping me out with this probably simple problem.

The most likely cause is your origin’s SSL certificate has expired after the usual 3 months. You need to renew it.

Thank you for your reply. It’s almost exactly 3 months since it was put up so while that seems likely the certificate doesn’t seem to have expired?

Nevertheless, I removed the domain from connected domains in the Google dashboard and readded it which is supposed to renew the certificate according to this post.

That seems to have done something as now I’m getting an SSL Handshake 525 error even though my CNAME is set to ghs.googlehosted.com. Not sure if it just needs awhile to get the DNS sorted? Do I need to do anything in the Cloudflare dashboard after renewing the certificate or reconfiguring the connected domain?

That is the Cloudflare edge certificate which is updated automatically updated by Cloudflare. If you are getting a 526 error, then it means Cloudflare can’t validate the SSL certificate on your origin server. You need to check there.