Soo.. how do i make my bucket public without r2.dev?

Hello, i’m really new to cloudflare and i’m really intrigued to try cloudflare r2 because of free egress. I’m going to use r2 to host game files, where i can provide game asset to user via in game download feature (video, image, script, text, 3d model, etc).

But im having confusion on how to setup public bucket. I read the documentation that my bucket can either be made public using r2.dev, or i need to create custom domain. However r2.dev is rate limited so the only practical way to make my bucket public is to use custom domain, where can i create custom domain? do i need to buy custom domain for it or cloudflare provide one for free ? if i need to buy custom domain, does cloudflare sell very cheap custom domain just for the purpose of making the bucket public ?

And suppose i have custom domain, how does the data transfer from r2 server to user work ? which one below represent the data transfer flow?:
(1) r2 server transfer the data to custom domain server, and then custom domain server transfer data to client
(2) custom domain server redirect to r2 bucket, which then r2 server transfer directly to client?
(3) other ???
If (1) is the case, then i guess it is pointless to use r2 to host file because i need r2 for the bandwidth not for the storage, amazon s3 would be a better platform. If the case is (2), how exactly do i setup my bucket url with my custom domain ??

I’m sorry if this sounds like a newbie question, but i’m having a hard time trying to wrap my head around r2 bucket system. Please help.

Yes.

The domain sends people directly to Cloudflare via DNS, no redirect involved.

You first either buy a domain on Cloudflare or add your external domain:

Next, you follow the procedure to add the domain to your bucket:

1 Like