Slow server response time

Hi.
After adding cloudflare to my site, gtmetrix or pagespeed Insights reported:

“Reduce initial server response time”.

I didn’t have this issue before i add cloudflare to my site.
Im not a expert so i need your help to remove this issue.

I asked my host about this problem, but they said that they do not have access to the cloudflare servers and therefore they cannot influence them.

URL: https://rund-um-die-katz.de

Thank you.

First: für Support & Hilfe in Deutsch können Sie gerne den deutschen Teil des Forums nutzen. Sollten Sie mit der englischen Sprache vertraut sein ist dieser Bereich hier natürlich richtig.

When I test your Page I do get these results: (Latest Performance Report for: https://rund-um-die-katz.de/ | GTmetrix)

TTFB: 238ms.

But notice that this Test has been made from LONDON, if you are not logged in GTmetrix will test your site from Canvoucer (Canada) and therefore the TTFB will rise ofc.

As you just posted the half of your TestResult I can not see from where the test was done.

All in one I see your initial request is dynamic

And therefore CloudFlare will not deliver it from its Cache, but actually “pipes” it from the origin Server as its defined as “not cachable” (dynamic).

As you use WordPress (Thrive Theme Builder?) I would recommend you installing a Caching Plugin. There are many out there. Please google which is the best one for you.
In my humble opinion “WpRocket” is the best out there and it does work combined with CloudFlare. But many others may give you simular results.

When I test here from germany the TTFB I do get in real life is about 230ms and therefore I assume you are not using proper caching on application side, thats why I recommend it to you.

But Cloudflare actually is working properly and I could not find anything that points to the direction that CloudFlare is slowing down your site, nor that it does not work as expected.

Thanks for your Help.