Site speed in different country locations

Hi,

I’m new to Cloudflare, and have spent some time looking through documentation and the community but haven’t found an answer to my question. Apologies if the answer is obvious.

I have a largely dynamic site using Buddypress, and am seeing significant differences in page load speed in various countries around the world, ranging from 4+s load time in Australia to 25s load time in Europe (London).

I’ve enabled Railgun but that hasn’t made a significant difference.

Should I expect roughly comparable load times wherever the user is close to a Cloudflare datacentre or is my understanding completely wrong (that wouldn’t surprise me :slight_smile: )

Thanks for any feedback or guidance or you can provide, it’s much appreciated.

Regards
Chris

its all depends on your origin server location…

the farther away it is from the cloudflare datacenter the visitor hit, the slower it gonna be unless the request is cached

In theory yes, but there’s some many factors that make up a page’s page load speed including 3rd party scripts/javascript and advertising and analytics scripts which Cloudflare has limited control over to accelerate.

How are you testing page load speeds currently ? If it’s real world users via Google Analytics reported page speed, remember it depends entire only end users mobile/desktop device and their ISP page speed too - i.e. slow mobile device with 3G mobile vs fast fibre internet on high end desktop.

You can test geographic page speed in more controlled manner via webpagetest.org. I wrote a guide on using it https://community.centminmod.com/threads/how-to-use-webpagetest-org-for-page-load-speed-testing.13859/.