Site is actually slower, not faster, after activating CloudFlare

Hi there,

I’ve recently set-up my first blog. I’m a complete beginner so if I’ve missed something obvious - be gentle with me! :slight_smile:

The hosting for my site is with BlueHost (yes, I know, not ideal but I didn’t realise this until I did some further investigation after signing up - I may well switch to Siteground at first renewal if that is beneficial but, to be fair, I haven’t had any problems with BlueHost yet).

After setting up my site I did some further research and decided that I wanted to get the foundations for my site right before I made too many posts (only one so far). So, I’ve created About, Cookie Policy, Privacy Policy, and Affiliate Disclaimer (even though I haven’t yet joined any affiliate partnerships!) pages and have looked to optimise the speed of my site.

I managed, with the help of Swift Performance Lite and some tips found online, to get GTMetrix ranks of A-100% / A-95% and a page load time of 1.1s. I was pleased with this but pretty much every ‘performance improvement’ article that I read recommended a CDN (often specifically CloudFlare).

So, I went ahead and signed-up with CloudFlare (given some of the issues that I read about with using the BlueHost cPanel I did it directly through the CloudFlare webpage and didn’t have any installation issues at all). I entered the relevant details in the Swift plugin and rushed to the GTMetrix site in anticipation …

The page load time on this first run was 2.4s. Hmm. Maybe it needs to ‘settle in’ (not sure what the technical term is for this!). I’ve left it roughly 24 hours and just run some tests again. GTMetrix has 100%/97% scores and a 1.4s page load time. Clearly much better but … slower than before using CloudFlare.

So, question number one - What might I be doing wrong to get slower rather than faster page load times?