Setting up ssl cert for sub-domain

I use SiteGround as my host. I’ve been using CloudFlare as my DNS for many many years, long before moving to SiteGround. I have my main site working with https. I have a Let’s Encrypt cert installed at SiteGround.

I need to setup a sub-domain, for development work on my site before pushing to the live/main site. This sub-domain is “stage.”

I can’t get to the stage site because of a Invalid SSL certificate error.

CloudFlare DNS has an arecord for the stage subdomain, pointing at the SiteGround server IP (just like the main site). It’s the same server IP as the main site.

I tried talking with SiteGround, and they’re telling me I have to “pause” DNS here at CloudFlare, then go to Let’s Encrypt at SiteGround, and then come back here to “resume” DNS to the sub-domain. This means no sense to me. There is no pause/resume option.

How do I resolve the cert error?
How do I setup a sub-domain with https (just like the main domain already is)?

Hi @user7410,

What is the exact error you receive when trying to connect to the subdomain? Also, are you able to share the domain?

It could be that your SSL mode is set to Full but the Let’s Encrypt cert does not cover the subdomain? Full requires a valid SSL cert so you could try adding a new cert in your server for that subdomain.

Alternatively, are you trying to use www.subdomain.domain.com? This would not work with the www as the Cloudflare cert covers *.yourdomain.com but can’t cover *. *.domain.com

The error was: “526 Invalid SSL certificate error”

I found this article:

After doing that and waiting a few minutes, SiteGround set me install their cert using their Let’s Encrypt. After that was up, I then un-paused CloudFlare.