Restart button for static files

As a developer, I am always adding improvements to my site or creating new areas on the site. I recently added a new area for articles and I was surprised not to find an option in the dashboard to ask Cloudflare to delete my old CSS files and index the new one that I just uploaded to the server.

I understand that there is the less romantic option in which I can add an id to the name to change every time I have a new version, but I expect or think that it is also a professional way to announce that we have a new version of code to replace the old one.

99% of Cloudflare’s clients are dynamic sites that constantly change their content, but once indexed in Cloudflare’s server network, do they stay that way forever?

It sounds like you’re talking about Cloudflare Cache, and purging it? Index/indexing isn’t how I would describe it, the cache is more like a key value store, which has its own Cache TTLs (Time to Live) and the key being the url (after normalization/other settings you can apply like cache level), and the value being the data.

There are various options to purge files from the cache:

Almost every dynamic site has some static content (css, etc) that is cachable, so I wouldn’t say the percentage is nearly that high. Regardless, Cache does expire, yes. The Cache TTL you return to Cloudflare in the cache-control headers (or override/set with Page Rules or Cache Rules) is the max amount of time an item will remain in cache, but items may be evicted earlier if not accessed frequently, and Cloudflare cache is by default per location. You can identify if an item is cache via the CF-Cache-Status response header, and for how long it has been cached by the age header

3 Likes