Replace with Cloudflare's nameservers

Hi, I am new to Cloudflare. I use Namecheap for my nameserver, I see that I am asked to move the DNS. Also, it says it will take 24 hours. If I set up nameserver to Cloudflare will this interrupt my service to my user? I am worried to move to Cloudflare’s nameservers.

Why Wait
Don’t wait for an answer, find it fast! Search for #CommunityTip error:
Example: #CommunityTip 521

Test Before You Post
Unsure of the issue? Test before posting using the Cloudflare Diagnostic Center: Diagnostic Center | Check SSL and Test Website Security | Cloudflare

Before you move to Cloudflare’s name servers, you need to make sure all your DNS records are here, just like they are at Namecheap. And make sure any mail-related DNS entries are set to :grey: DNS Only, as Cloudflare does not proxy email.

If all your DNS records match, there will be no interruption during the transition.

If you’re going to use a hostname not covered by Cloudflare SSL, you’d have to use ACM. Personally, I advise you to not use the ‘www’ subdomain in front of another subdomain. Just go with stickycart. Then you won’t have the SSL problem.

2 Likes

Hello,
Thank you very much for the information. I was not aware that subdomains that are 2 levels deep are not in the free offering for universal certificates.

I am internally making requests to api.stickycart.cartylabs.com so I suppose I will continue to run into problems even if I get rid of the www. prefix.

I am assuming that the cheapest option for me would be to move both my frontend and backend endpoints to be just 1 level of subdomain?

That’s free, and the preferred approach.

1 Like