Redirection loop : wrong SSL config?

Hi everyone,

Sorry to disturb, but i’ve looked in many places and it seems I can’t resolve this issue…

My website https://5aconseil.com/ seems to be in a redirect loop, could you please help me out to solve it ?

Here are my Cloudflare configuration for SSL :
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1zQ-arwYTTcTujpEVomT9a8n6Swl-JwuJ

I don’t have a SSL certificate on my hosting (1&1 / ionos), since it cannot have one when I’m using Cloudflare’s Nameservers.

Lastly, in case this might be of any use : this website is a Wordpress, with WP Rocket installed (and, i hope, properly set).

Would there be anyone to help me solve this :-/ ?

Thanks

Bastien

1 Like

Assuming your server IP address ends in 58, it would appear as if your server is not configured for HTTPS.

Hi Sandra,

Thanks for your reply. Indeed my server IP ends with …58, so that could be the problem.

However, I’m sorry but I dont understand how I could fix this - i’m a bit new to this… :-/

• Cloudflare manages our nameservers.
  • My hosting (ionos aka 1&1) cannot provide SSL certificate if nameservers are not theirs
  • Because of this, I chose :
    _ Cloudflare provides the SSL certificate.
    _ On Cloudflare, I chose the “Flexible SSL” setting, since it appears to be the correct one for this situation. Here is what is written about this “flexible SSL” :
    Flexible SSL: You cannot configure HTTPS support on your origin, even with a certificate that is not valid for your site. Visitors will be able to access your site over HTTPS, but connections to your origin will be made over HTTP. Note: You may encounter a redirect loop with some origin configurations.

So, if I understood correctly : indeed my server (with IP ending with …48) is not configured with SSL, but since all requests goes through Cloudflare DNS they handle the SSL from the client to Cloudflare. Then, it’s not secured (well, i can’t) but it should work anyway, isn’t ?

Bastien