Random 520 error, appearing very occasionally

About three days ago, my site started to display error 520 in a strangely random way. I use a VPS server on Hostgator for my wordpress site.

I have made absolutely no changes to any kind of configuration on my server, it’s been a long time since I last did. As I said, the error just started to happen out of nowhere.

I can’t purposely reproduce the error. I have already opened 150 pages on my website quickly, one after the other, without the error appearing. And sometimes, I’m using my site normally, I open a page and the error comes up.

The error doesn’t happen with a high frequency, on the contrary, it’s totally possible to browse my site without the experience being harmed by the error, because as I said, it appears very occasionally.

I’ve already checked the cpanel error log, and there apparently isn’t showing anything about the problem. I’ve been using cloudflare for two years now, and it’s the first time I’ve been dealing with it.

It is important to mention that as soon as the page is refreshed, the error disappears. After refreshing the page, the site continues to function normally, with good performance and no slowdown issues.

Im from São Paulo, Brazil.

Other suggestions posted involve disabling HTTP/2 at the server. Are you able to do this? So far, no recent post I’ve seen has tried the “No HTTP/2” potential fix.

1 Like

This post was flagged by the community and is temporarily hidden.

Hi @comunidade.simstime,

Due to the number of 520s being reported in similar circumstances, we are escalating the issue to Cloudflare Support. The original incident should have been resolved and your issue may well be unrelated.

We recommend checking these troubleshooting tips, if you haven’t already.

If you have been through these thoroughly and are not seeing corresponding issues on your network/server and you have a ticket number with Cloudflare, please reply and post that #.