Question About Merging SPF Records

For one of my domains I set up a custom DKIM for Aweber.com and merged SPF records to do so (v=spf1 a mx include:websitewelcome.com include:send.aweber.com ~all).

TTL is “Auto” and Proxy is “DNS only”

Is this correct?

You should evaluate the use of “A” in your SPF. If you are sending email from your servers which are :orange: then the A will not apply to them, and emails sent directly from your servers will fail the SPF check. The fix is to either relay your email through one of the mail servers, or add them as ip4 entries.

~all is not very safe, and you should target getting to -all.

Make sure any CNAMEs you have created for DKIM are :grey:

Have you configured a DMARC policy?

1 Like

Hey michael, thank you very much for your answer. Forgive me, but I’m a novice and don’t really understand what you mean by “A will not apply to them, and emails sent directly from your servers will fail the SPF check.” I sometimes send emails through my own server but use Aweber.com (which is an autoresponder mail service) to send the majority. And I’m not sure what “ip4 entries” are or what a “DMARC policy” is.

If you are sending email directly from the server for example.com, then you might have used the “a” in the SPF record to cover your server. But once you set example.com to :orange: the DNS will change, and “a” will not match the actual IP address you are sending from, and might get dropped.

DMARC is another mechanism that you can use to let email receivers know whether or not email claiming to be from you is real or not. Dmarcian is a good resource, and they have a free reporting tier that is pretty good. They have some good docs that will help you with your SPF records as well.

2 Likes

Okay, I think I understand. So… how do I set it so I can send email from my server and set up DKIM for my autoresponder service? I can’t have two, so I read how to merge. But is that the wrong way to go about it?