Proxy service, permitted or not permitted for streaming jellyfin/plex

I am new to cloudflare, I came here because the price was reasonable and I was able to get the domain name that I wanted. Then I found out about the proxy service, which is a great feature.

So here is my question. “???”

Is proxy permitted for use during streaming Jellyfin or Plex? I watched a u-tube video from Ibracorp where he said that using a proxy for streaming media will get a cloudflare account banned, I don’t know if I should use it or not, I rarely access my jellyfin through https:// but I wanted to ask before I set the proxy on if anyone at cloudflare cares if I use it or not or if there is any rules I need to follow. I am new to this service and I don’t want my account blocked. Is this rumour true? If I could get an answer from somone who works for cloudflare that would be great!

So far the domain is working great and I am always able to connect to my server, I came from inos and I don’t know why but I’m having less issues with cloudflare and the gui is much easier to navigate, its easier to setup subdomains.

Well, yes and no. First: its again the ToS, but unless you are not exceeding the actual limitations in terms of traffic you very sure will not get banned etc. Video/Movies/Audio are not the typical web content, and then on the other side they again are on Videoplatforms. I in general had problems setting up Plex on my NAS on a docker with piping it to port 443 as it interfered with other Plex setting AFAIK. So I eventuelly gave it up and just used an unproxied domain.

Second: if you just mange your DNS over Cloudflare but you are not proxying any Plex traffic through Cloudflare you are anyway on the safe side. I actually would recommand this. Use Cloudflare (best DNS management tool) and unproxy your Plex domain (:grey:) then it should not be a problem anymore.