Properly Configuring CloudFlare

Please forgive me as I’m new to working with VPS hosts.

I’m running CentOS 7.9 with WHM/cPanel. I’m trying to configure authenticated origin pulls with Cloudflare, and force all requests to go through CloudFlares network with .htaccess “Require ip xxx.xxx.xxx”. I generated an origin server SSL certificate on Cloudflare and installed it on WHM and cPanel (not sure if I was supposed to only install it on just WHM, or just cPanel, or both). I downloaded the Cloudflare specific CA (authenticated_origin_pull_ca.pem) and put it in /etc/Cloudflare/authenticated_origin_pull_ca.pem. In WHM I added the following to Server Configuration > Apache Configuration > Include Editor > Pre Main Include (Global)

SSLVerifyClient require
SSLVerifyDepth 1
SSLCACertificateFile /etc/cloudflare/authenticated_origin_pull_ca.pem

After restarting Apache, I get 502 Bad Gateway. I tried adding the “Require zip XXX.XXX.XXX.XXX” rules to .htaccess and uploaded that to public_html on the cPanel FTP.

In Cloudflare I have SSL/TLS encryption mode set to “Full”, and Authenticated Origin Pulls enabled.

Any ideas on what I’m messing up here? Any help is greatly appreciated

I think that 502 error means your server was unable to validate Cloudflare’s client certificate. I think that means your server failed to read the SSLCACertificateFile.

First, make sure the path you specified is correct. In your explanation you have a capital C on Cloudflare but in your config it’s lowercase. Unix filesystems are case-sensitive so make sure that matches, and otherwise that the path is right.

If the path is right–did you do a full restart of Apache or just a config reload? Apache sometimes needs a full restart to pick up a new certificate.