Problem with website migration

Hello,
First of all, I am not a developer, so please bear with me!

I have a live version and a staging version (dev). My website is e-commerce, built with wordpress and woocommerce. My theme is storefront. My hosting provider is gandi.net. For backup and migration, I use duplicator pro.

So, yesterday I was getting a 500 (internal server error) when trying to upload a post to the blog. Trying to locate the problem, I broke my dev and since then I am trying to build it again.

Problem 1) While running the installer of duplicator, I was getting a non-secure connection warning, which was not letting me pass throught it. This issue was the same in all browsers (firefox is throwing a warning and doesn’t allow me to proceed, Opera and Edge keep refreshing, and the green lock left to the url keeps altering from secure to non-secure) and other pc’s as well. I can’t locate the source of this problem, but I managed to bypass it by adding a firefox plugin (smart https). The warning is still there, but it lets me proceed.

Problem 2) After the, duplicator begins extraction, but after a while I get a 524 timeout error. I had faced the same issue a couple of times recently, but after repeating the procedure a few times, it was ok. Now, the 524 error is the result of every extraction attempt with duplicator.

So, I sent a ticket to hosting provider (Gandi) and they replied “your instance is undersized for the code and traffic associated with the websites.” (Current plan is Small, with 2 php workers). The max_execution_time of PHP scripts is 180 seconds.