Prior to migrate

Hello everyone, newbie here. Before to migrate my nameservers, I setup the assigned CF DNS on my mac and tried to reach the website to see that everything is fine. I noticed that it seems to flap: from time to time the website becomes unreachable:

• on SAFARI: “safari can’t establish a secure connection”
  • on FIREFOX: SSL_ERROR_NO_CYPHER_OVERLAP error

My website supports Let’s Encrypt both on CF and serverside.

I don’t think it’s your mistake, I have a website running for more than 2 years and suddenly today it’s been down for an entire day.

there is no one to contact. no support from CF side :confused:

If you haven’t yet gone through the process of activating your domain through the dashboard then this is most likely due to the SSL certificate not having issued fully yet. This process won’t complete until you finalize the setup process and/or embed the required CNAME verification records.

I would suggest reaching out directly to our support team so that we can take a look at this for you and help you get the SSL certificate issued, or if it already is, look at why you are seeing this error intermittently. We can be reached 24/7 via support (at) cloudflare (dot) com, even at the Free level of service! :slight_smile:

Hello Martijn, I contacted the support and the reply was:

“A 404 error is shown when the file doesn’t exist on the origin web server at the address that was entered in the web browser.” etc etc about 404

How does 404 would match my question? :unamused:

@fab We have some auto-responders that look for certain keywords and try to answer common questions. If you reply back to that ticket (assuming you haven’t already) it should reopen that ticket and put it back in the active ticket queue.

But as Martijn mentions we don’t/can’t issue an SSL certificate for a domain until it has been moved to Cloudflare and we request one/receive it back from the certificate authority.