Previously active site no longer showing due to SSL issue

I have had my website (garyfahey.com) up and operational for over a year but seem to have recently had an SSL issue with the page now showing ERR_SSL_VERSION_OR_CIPHER_MISMATCH.

I am a complete novice with tech stuff but had tried to follow all the suggestions (I even purchased an advanced certificate in case it was an issue after Cloudflare ceased working with DigiCert - I just wanted to get my site up and then would work on the problem later).

My universal certificate had been showing 'pending validation (txt) for at least the 48 hours I had noticed it and the advanced certificate I purchased has shown the same for the last 24/36 hours. I have disabled the universal certificate in case that was causing an issue but am still unable to access my site.

I have made no other changes to my domain/hosting/dns etc to have had this issue in the first place.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you,
Gary

Hi @GaryF have you tried to toggle the universal SSL from enabled to disabled?

That is step 2 in the quick fix ideas in the cipher mismatch CommunityTip

• navigate to the SSL/TLS tab and temporarily disable Universal SSL at the bottom of the page.
  • Wait for a few minutes, then re-enable Universal SSL to trigger the re-issuance of your certificates.

Hi @cloonan, thank you for your response. I have disabled the universal certificate but had not re-enabled it as i thought that may have played up with the advanced certificate i purchased, but i will try to enable it again and see if that works.

1 Like

Perfect, thank you. When you disable universal ssl, it removes all old certifcates, when you re-enable it, new certificates are issued. If that does not work, I’ll grab a persuader and give it a nudge.

Many thanks @cloonan. I have just re-enabled the universal certificate and will report back the outcome after sufficient time.

I really do appreciate your time and assistance,

Gary

1 Like