Newbie - why captcha on my webpage?

I’m new to networking security issues, so there might be a lot of basic stuff I don’t get.

I own the site: https://www.klit-andersen.com
Some times when I try to access it to maintain the content or even just visit for testing how it looks, I run into a cloudflare pages that asks me to “complete one more step” where I need to check that I’m not a robot.

I found this page regarding the issue: Understanding Cloudflare Challenge Passage (Captcha) – Cloudflare Help Center.

I’ve tried to look up my IP to remove it from the list. I could not find it. I made a whitelist of my IP anyway. That did not help.

Then a friend installed a VPN add-on. When I use that, there is no problem. But I think my PC slowed down so I disabled it. And for a period everything was working fine - even without the VPN.

But now the problem has come back.
Sure - I can use VPN, but I still think my PC is to slow with that. And I mean - if my IP is not listed (and therefore I can’t remove / whitelist it).then why on earth do I keep running into this “I’m not a robot” check if I don’t use VPN?

I don’t know what made it work for a short period without VPN, and I don’t understand why it has come back when my IP is not listed.

Please try to explain in plain words. I’m not good with technical network related terms.
Thanks !

Your domain is not using Cloudflare in the first place, so it’s not quite clear where that CAPTCHA should come from.

Maybe your host configured something on their end. Contact them and clarify if they are somehow using Cloudflare, though there is no real indication they would, so it might be something on your local machine. Have you tried a different machine and also browser?

Hello Sandro

Thanks a million for reaching out.
To be honest - I don’t understand why this works now !!!

I was trying to edit my post to use another example. But it looks like the only option I have is to delete and write a new topic.