Need to set up Certificate?

Do I need to set up a certificate if I already have one through A2 hosting? I am just a beginner, but set up with Partial setting and switching to Full set up.

If your origin server already has a certificate applied, then you don’t need another one. Cloudflare takes care of the one between the user and Cloudflare.

It was mentioned in a comment that the free certificates through your host will not renew if you have Cloudflare? It was suggested to get an origin certificate through Cloudflare - they auto renew. Is this correct?

It depends on the host that you have.

They don’t auto-renew, but you can get them for 15 years

1 Like

Origin certificates from Cloudflare can be handy because of the long expiration however they can only be used with orange-cloud traffic. If you grey-cloud (or pause Cloudflare proxy service for your whoe domain), browsers will throw an error because they’re not real trusted certificates (they’re only trusted by Cloudflare’s proxy).

I don’t know anything about A2. SOME web hosts will fail to renew certificates if your DNS entries are orange clouded (example: Github Pages, Google Sites) but this is not universal. Note that SSL mode Full (non-strict) will continue functioning with an expired certificate (obviously this can be seen as a security risk). Full (strict) will break immediately if the origin certificate expires.

Again I don’t know anything about A2 but have you looked into the possibility of using LetsEncrypt / Certbot on your origin? That’s probably the most robust choice, the certificates can be used both orange-clouded and grey-clouded, automatic renewal is easy, and orange-clouding does not break automatic renewal. But if it’s just a basic web host with no shell access, it might not be an option for you.

1 Like

This is all greek to me. I am managing basic Wordpress sites, that are hosted on an inexpensive plan. I have subdomains which are most of sites I manage.