Locking down the origin server

Hello,

I am new to Cloudflare and I tried to do some searching for this answer but was finding mixed information about it. I know based on this page IP Ranges | Cloudflare I can limit my origin server to these IP’s so only Cloudflare can talk to it. But does WARP utilize those IP addresses? I don’t see a call out anywhere where WARP clients have a different range of IP’s from that list and that concerns me?

I’ve seen some other random chatter where people claim services can be deployed in Cloudflare to utilize the same IP ranges to scrape/access sites. Is that possible through say a worker or something?

Next, is it possible to implement some form of HTTP header from Cloudflare to the origin server that the origin server will accept and the requesting client will not see? This would be just another layer of security.

Would it be possible to use Cloudflare tunnel with WAF/proxy rules? I do see this being limiting potentially because of source/destination port limits, so not my number 1 option.

2 Likes

Take a look at Authenticated Origin Pull. When configured, your origin will only serve requests from the Cloudflare proxies.

2 Likes

Ok, cool. I’ll check that out and see if it works out. Thanks for the response and the solution.

1 Like

The most secure option (and IMO the easiest) is Cloudflare Tunnel with JWT validation. If this is a public website, create an Access application and a policy with Action: Service Auth and Include: Everyone. This will transparently generate a JWT that can be validated by cloudflared.