Is there a limit to how many emails I can add?

Hi,

I recently deployed an access policy to protect access to a path on my business domain.

Is there a limit to the number of unique emails or “emails ending in” that can be added?

I haven’t encountered one or seen it documented. I’m curious what you would be doing that might stress any limits (but genuinely just curious on a personal “what neat things are people doing” — note that I’m not affiliated with Cloudflare).

2 Likes

I have never encountered limit, experimentation might reveal one.

Depending on your Identity Provider (IdP), you might find it easier to use an access group already defined in your IdP. Something like Azure AD has a 50,000 member limit per group, so unlikely to be an issue.

2 Likes

@thedaveCA

More than happy to share the use-case!

I’m a technical writer and given that virtually everything I do is ghostwriting, for NDA and other reasons, I have to password protect my portfolio.

My previous “solution” was ultra simplistic — to use the Wordpress Password Protected plugin.

This had some pretty obvious deficiencies and never really sat well with me. Prospects could share it around without my control. I couldn’t revoke access without changing the string and preventing others from seeing it etc.

I created an Access Policy for the portfolio URL specifically. Which is here: dsrghostwriting.com/portfolio.

I’ve been using Access to password protect the staging version of this WP site for a few weeks now. I was on the phone call with a friend when the idea to use it for the portfolio struck like a flash of lightning — it’s literally the solution I’ve been dreaming of for months —particularly as I can whitelist a domain so that people can share the link around internally but keep it “protected” from external parties!

Now you can probably understand why I enquired about how many emails I can add to the policy at any one time.