Is New Zealand Spark traffic using CF still routing through Japan?

I’ve read that for people using the Spark ISP in New Zealand, who access a website that uses Cloudflare CDN, they are offered files all the way from Japan and not Cloudflare’s NZ or Aus servers.

I’m not a network tech guy but I understand it’s something to do with Spark not peering and something to do with Cloudflare not having ‘nodes’ (whatever that is) with Spark.

Details in this post;
https://www.geekzone.co.nz/forums.asp?forumid=39&topicid=242084

Is this still an issue? The reason why I’m asking is, I’m a web designer, one of my clients will get more international traffic soon but most traffic will still be NZ based. So what I need to avoid is, if I sign them up with Cloudflare, I can’t have the NZ Spark users being served website resources from Japan.

If a Pro plan resolves this, that’s fine with me.

Hello,

On our Free or Pro plans (or Business plan in Korea), we serve you locally with any ISP that interconnects with us, but not necessarily for traffic accessed only via an ISP that does not peer with us.

If some of your traffic is being served to users at ISPs that do not peer with us, there is a good chance it may be served from non-local routes. Despite being closer to one particular PoP you might find that your traffic is flowing through another one located further away. While performance for some of these customers may be reduced at times, all other Cloudflare benefits will work the same.

You can read more about this on our blog: The relative cost of bandwidth around the world

It seems that we don’t have direct peering with them and more to via intermediary (Equinix): PeeringDB. Direct peering with one specific internet providers requiring behind the scene of complex cooperation which should benefit all parties.