How to setup static website with subdomain?

I setup a simple static website and it is working fine. I want to add a subdomain. The setup current is using github to publish the pages to Cloudflare. I am on the free plan.

How do I tell Cloudflare where to find the files for the subdomain? Is there a way to do it with 1 github repo? I think I can create a 2nd repository and then map that to the subdomain on Cloudflare (though I am not totally sure on that - this is my first attempt to use Cloudflare so I am just learning).

But it seems like it would be nicer to just have 1 github repo. And have something like a [subdomain] folder in the main repo and then tell Cloudflare to use that directory for [subdomain].example.com maybe?

What would be your suggestion for the simplest way to do this?

Yes, you can now do this with one Github repo. It will be a separate Pages project in your Cloudflare dashboard, with the subdomain added to it. See the docs here:

1 Like

Thanks.

The web page says “go to your Pages project > Settings > Builds & deployments > Build watch path”

Trying to find where that is clicking through lots of menus isn’t easy imo. For future readers you go to

https://dash.cloudflare.com/[your “account number”]/pages/view/[your “pages project name”]/settings/environment-variables

It also seems like “excluding a path” just excludes it from updating (doesn’t remove it from the “Cloudflare site”)?

So when I created the subdomain and "excluded the main repo and included just a subdirectory it is including the whole site. But for that site [https://[project-name].pages.dev/[subdirectory-name] the subdirectory displays as it should.

So I tried using that address (with the subdirectory included) as the “content” DNS item but my guess maybe Cloudflare doesn’t like the / in the “content” DNS field? Because the subdomain generates an error page

Error 1016