How to Reduce DNS lookups

Hi all,
I am not very technical and my web host has told me they’ve done as much as they can to help improve my site speed at this point. I am using GTMetrix to test my site and I am hoping to improve site speed by about 2 seconds.

I am looking at the recommendations, all of which are over my head, unfortunately. I heard CloudFlare is the place to go for this though - [Reduce DNS lookups]

These are my YSlow results:

RECOMMENDATION GRADE TYPE PRIORITY
[Add Expires headers] F (34) SERVER HIGH
[Use cookie-free domains] F (10) COOKIE LOW
[Reduce DNS lookups] F (20) CONTENT LOW
[Make fewer HTTP requests] C (72) CONTENT HIGH

Please, if I am able to easily update any of these via CloudFlare, I’d love any tips or step-by-step instructions if it’s easy enough for a noob. (: Thank you!

Most likely, not. Those are often due to third party resources on your site:
Expires Headers (Cloudflare cached resources has these, so it’s probably stuff not from your domain)
Cookie-free domains (Ok, Cloudflare adds cookies, but they don’t add noticeable overhead)
Reduce DNS lookups (Lots of third party resources from different domains require all these DNS lookups)
Fewer HTTP requests (Just lots of resources on your page)

If you posted a link to the GTMetrix test, or your domain name, we can give more detailed suggestions.

1 Like

Thanks so much! It’s /reports/www.422deals.com/DvhbfW3G .
Thanks for taking a look and any feedback. I’d have to think there’s a way to get my site speed under 3 seconds. Hopefully? Thanks again!
-Kate

The GTMetrix Waterfall view shows Facebook as a pretty big slowdown.

However, in my own browser, its the page itself that’s slowing things down. If your WordPress site isn’t using a Page Caching plugin, I highly recommend it. WP Fastest Cache is fast and simple. Others like using W3TC.

1 Like