How to check if SXG is working? not reported in Lighthouse

Dear All,

I am new to CF and I am still learning some basic features, I hope that somebody could help me with the following issue.

I have recently activated SXG in my Cloudflare settings to improve my LCP. However, after some tests I could not see any LCP time reduction. I have then started questioning whether SGX is indeed active on my website and apparently I could not see it reported in Lighthouse. Please see below:

It is my understanding that if SXG is working, I should read it in the column Type and/or Size. Instead in my case I do not see it.

Could it be related to the fact that I should wait few hours before I see it reflected therefore benefiting of LCP improvements?

Thanks in advance,

Fabio.

So you can see how to test here:

And you may want also to check the caveats here that explain specific request & response headers that will prevent SXGs from being returned:

1 Like

Hi Simon,

Thanks for replying and providing the reference for testing SXG implementation.

I went through the test and I got the below answer:

The content-type is text/html therefore the SGX is clearly not working. At the same time, I do not understand the reason because when I read the cache-control value, it is equivalent to max-age=15.

I compare the cache-control value with the list of values reported in the article which prevent the signed exchange to be created. However, the article does not list max-age=15 as a blocking point.

Do you have any idea of what could be the reason and how I could solve it?

Thanks in advance for your help and suggestions.

Fabio

Hi Simon,

Allow me to add additional information.

Checking deeper and contacting my hosting, I have discovered the following.

Apparently the cache-control value equivalent to max-age=15 is added by Cloudflare because if Cloudflare is bypassed and my website is visited directly from my hosting server the value of the cache-control header changes to ‘public’.