How to add local network to trusted IPs using cloudflare apache module?

Hello,

My first post. So the stress of sounding like a complete noob is real lol!

I have an apache 2.4 server running fine in a freenas jail. The cloudflare module is added and loaded. I am able to successfully use the DenyAllButCloudFlare directive but for some reason unable to add my local network to trusted/allowed IPs. I tried the following right above the DenyAllButCloudFlare line and both simply at the bottom of the httpd.conf file.

CloudflareRemoteIPTrustedProxy 192.168.1.
also
CloudflareRemoteIPTrustedProxy 192.168.1.0/16

No luck with either.

Any thoughts on this?

Did you try to add your subnet to /etc/apache2/mods-enabled/cloudflare.conf file just after Cloudflare subnets (in the same line)?

@komarEX

I am not sure I have cloudflare.conf file anywhere…I am guessing the path you mentioned is in linux systems. Since I am using FreeNAS (FreeBSD derivative), I checked these paths:

/usr/local/etc/apache24/extra
/usr/local/etc/apache24/modules.d

I did a search for ‘cloudflare.conf’ in the system and could not find one. I guess the module I installed does not automatically come with a .conf file to work with…Thoughts on this? I suppose I can manually include it but not sure where to get it from.

Where did you get from your cloudflare module for apache2?

I installed using pkg shell command: ‘pkg install ap24-mod_cloudflare’

Just to take a step back a moment here - what issue are you trying to solve by placing this instruction in your Apache configuration?

To explain a bit - the CloudflareRemoteIPTrustedProxy directive instructs the mod_cloudflare Apache module to trust the visitor IP headers supplied from the IPs you specify in the directive.

This is to ensure Apache logs (and applications running on Apache) receive the real visitor IP. It does not do anything more (or less) than that.