Having trouble stopping DDOS attacks

I first want to say that I’m very new to cloudflare and trying to fight off attackers. I volunteer time with a non-profit and we’re being systematically targeted by bad actors. My logs show groups of over 100 IP addresses sending tens of thousands of requests each, constantly crashing our VPS hosting account. I was turned on to Cloudflare and activated a free account 36 hours ago. My security level is set to I’m Under Attack and we’re getting about 190k Total Requests every 24 hours to a website that should be getting maybe 20 uniques a day. Our domain is askc.org. I’m really at a loss for what to try next, but I’m guessing there are some settings we should be changing that would stop the attacks from shutting us down. The only other thing I’ve changed is added several countries to be Challenged under the Firewall Access Rules. Appreciate any assistance!

welcome to layer 7 attack, unfortunately the only tools from cloudflare to help you protect against it it:

• I am under attack mode(turn it on in the settings under firewall tab in Security Level)
  • rate limiting(its paid service find it under the firewall tab

non cloudflare tools:

• adding more servers\scaling up your server
  • adding better caching tools(like varnish\nginx)

about rate limiting, does they attack the same address or all of them?

( I was also under ddos attack recently and I made a post about it with no replays I got ddos attacked and I have few questions )

First of all, make sure that your server only accepts packets from Cloudflare.

Since you only recently switched to Cloudflare, the IP of your origin server is likely still to be connected with your domain, and attackers make use of that information.

If your VPS hosting provider has a dashboard where you can set up a firewall, make sure to drop everything else that is not Cloudflare (and yourself). For a list of Cloudflare IP’s, check this page.