Having trouble configuring NS records

I’m having trouble setting up delegation of a subdomain in order to set up a dedicated IP with our SendInBlue, a mail sending provider we are currently using. I’m following these instructions. We are running our DNS proxied through Cloudflare.

I want updates.mydomain.com to point to ns1.sendinblue.com and ns2.sendinblue.com.

Strangely enough, when I checked for propagation, everything seemed to go fine. But when I came back after a day or two, propagation of the NS records had ‘undone’. What am I doing wrong?

Please note that I’m not very experienced at all in all things DNS related, but eager to learn. Thank you!

I assume you mean the two NS records were removed.

In that case either someone else has access to your account and removed them or you granted some automated script API access to your account.

In both cases you should be able to find who did what and through what channel via the audit log. Depending on where that change came from you should either change your password, revoke the API access, or stop aforementioned possibly running script.

Hi Sandro,
Thanks for taking the time to respond.

The records were exactly where I left them: unchanged. Also, only one other person has acces to our site through Cloudflare.

I should maybe note that during the first check I did on propagation (I’d say roughtly 20 minutes after adding the NS records to Cloudflare), only 7 or 8 servers could resolve. After two days this was down to 0.

If the records were not removed, they should still resolve. What exactly is the issue then?

What’s the domain?

That’s exactly what I find so strange! The records weren’t removed, but are not resolving.

The domain is tswildales.com, and I’m trying to delegate updates.tswildales.com to the nameservers of SendInBlue.

The records resolve, so that’s not exactly a Cloudflare issue at this point

nslookup -type=ns updates.tswildales.com bart.ns.cloudflare.com
Server:  bart.ns.cloudflare.com