Having problem with domain transfer to CloudFlare

Hello! I am new to CloudFlare, so I trust you will be lenient with me as I need to progressively understand how CloudFlare works. My point is I would like to transfer a domain name from NameCheap to CloudFlare. I already unlocked the domain and got the Auth Code from NameCheap. However, when I access the transfer page in CloudFlare (First Stage at “Select Domains”) there is no area in the form where I can write the domain name I wish to transfer. So, the button CONFIRM DOMAIN is not activated because I cannot write the domain name. In short, a message comes up saying there is no domain to transfer which seems logical as I cannot write the domain name I wish to transfer. I think I am missing something simple as I don’t think there is any problem with CloudFlare.

Hi @user12329,

Cloudflare’s Registrar service is designed for domains already using Cloudflare for DNS. You can only transfer domains active in your account here with the nameservers pointed to Cloudflare.

From your description, I’m not sure if your domain is using Cloudflare at all at the moment. Note that if you do transfer it , you will not be able to change the nameservers and will have to use Cloudflare. I’d recommend looking into whether you want to do that before you consider transferring the domain.

If you are already using Cloudflare nameservers, you should see the transfer option on the right side of your domain’s overview page if it is eligible.

If you want more specific help, please post the domain name in question.

1 Like

Dear domjh. I had not updated the DNS of the domain at NameCheap. After reading your reply I logged into NameCheap and noticed the DNS assigned to the domain in question (BABELFRANCE.COM) were as follows:

Name Server: DNS1.REGISTRAR-SERVERS.COM
Name Server: DNS2.REGISTRAR-SERVERS.COM

So, what I have did was updating them with the DNS assigned to my CloudFlare account:

beau.ns.cloudflare.com
elisa.ns.cloudflare.com