Gateway with WARP Questions

I’m still learning about Gateway with WARP and have been playing with it quite a bit. When I enable it on my phone, a lot of sites do not work properly. I see there is Certificate Pinning available and have enabled that for sites that do not seem to load correctly to bypass the HTTP filter.

I will give you some examples:

• Cafe Rio, Chipolte, Chick-Fil-A apps on Android devices will not connect unless they are exceptioned using a hostname list.
  • Reddit will not work
  • Twitter won’t work
  • Discord won’t connect, Captcha’s won’t load.
  • Google Calendar won’t sync
  • Outlook app won’t sync, connect, send email.
  • There are a lot more sites that have issues as well.

Since I’m attempting to understand this better, my questions are:

• Is this normal behavior? I know this can be interpreted by some servers as a MITM attack, so maybe that is why they are not loading.
  • Is there a sort of set and forget it configuration out of the box, other than the pre-configured (Do Not Inspect) lists?
  • It seems enabling (Do Not Inspect) lists, also removes the applications from the Shadow IT discovery as well. Is there a way to still manage that without those sites be set to not be inspected? I’m assuming not, but asking because I suppose I need some education.
  • Are Gateway with DOH and WARP compatible without clobbering each other or should they be run independently?
  • What are the consensus best practices for Gateway with WARP? For example, only enable WARP on certain sites within a list, etc?

The reasons I’m asking all of this is because my experience hasn’t been this with with a lot of routers that support TLS inspection and haven’t had many issues with sites not loading, etc.

Thank you kindly for any helpful feedback and direction you may give! :slight_smile:

You have two options, a) Disable “TLS decryption” (Zero Trust Dashboard->Settings->Network->Firewall) or b) installing and trusting the certificate:

Hi Albertus,