Full SSL - when does it activate and how?

I have read the suggested associated articles but they do not seem to answer my problem. I am new to Cloudflare and have just set up my site basically using all the Cloudflare default settings.

I cant access my site at all with any https prefix yet in my control panel under SSL/TLS my site is shown as

Your SSL/TLS encryption mode is Full and the Full option (recommended by cloudflare) is selected. (not Full Strict)

I can change to flexible and immediately use my site via https (I know this is not full ssl).

My question is - Can I use Full, do I have to wait for something to be configured, do I have to Install something on my server. Do I use Full or not, if so how ?

Thanks

You should only use Full strict.

1 Like

Then my question would expand to why is Full an option, why is it the default and why do Cloudflare state it as the recommended option.

If I choose full strict - what happens then, do I get a certificate to install on my server, is there a charge ?
Thanks

Put simply and bluntly, because Cloudflare believes it is better to leave the impression of security than to properly secure connections.

You need Full strict, with a valid certificate on you server. That’s it.

1 Like

Yes.

Generate an origin certificate from Cloudflare dashboard - no need to pay in order to use this.

1 Like

OK, I understand, I am disappointed but think I understand, except I would wonder how it gives an impression of security when it does not work at all.

Can I explore the ‘impression of security’ further, is there anything else I need to do to actually have just Full active and working, even if it is not truly full security.

I mean I accept this is not best solution, but is there anyway to get it actually working so I can at least experiment with it

… and that would be used with Full strict, but not just Full ?