Feedback on Free Network Analytics Tool - Flow Based Monitoring

Hey everyone! My name is Chris Draper, and I’m a Product Manager at Cloudflare. My team is building a free network analytics tool. The free version of this tool will be helpful to anyone with a network lab at home or NetSec employees at small businesses. I’m posting this to get feedback from anyone interested in network analytics!

The product that I’m working on is called Flow Based Monitoring. This product will let customers configure their router(s) to send netflow / sFlow traffic data to Cloudflare. Then, Cloudflare can analyze the network traffic data, and show statistics on it.

For example, let’s say you’re running a photography website from your home lab, and people can download your art work. You could setup flow based monitoring to measure the amount of data that was downloaded from your website over time. The network flow data will show other interesting metrics like source IP, destination IP, ports, and TCP flags. For home labs and small businesses, this is a cool way to monitor network activity.

I’ve included a mock-up of what the dashboard for viewing network flow statistics would look like. Please leave some comments and let me know what you think!

Also, it would be great to talk with people that run home labs or have networking experience about this product. If you’re interested, please DM me or email me at “[email protected]

3 Likes

Interesting that you measure BPS in GB/s :wink:

Displaying basic stats and IP logs are definitely nice (and I like the style of the dashboards), but there is already a lot of good tooling for that out there.

I’d love some geo-information. I guess Cloudflare has some insight into where the traffic originates, and over what paths the traffic flows.
Also, IP reputation would be nice!