Emails not working after changing to cloudflare nameservers

Hi

I am new to Cloudflare and I changed the domains nameservers to the ones Cloudflare said to change them to but now my emails are not working and the server keeps saying failed to connect to [Preformatted text](http://mail.it-doneright.co.uk)

I’m not 100% on DNS records but having a look at the Cloudflare DNS records, I added the ones in that was on the original host as I took screenshots as a backup to refer to.

I have attached a screenshot of the current DNS records on Cloudflare

Thank you in advance

Update: I got the emails working now after altering some DNS records, just took a while to update

Greetings,

Thank you for asking.

I am sorry to hear you are experiencing an issue with receiving and/or sending e-mails while using Coudflare for your domain name.

Seems to me good now. However, I cannot find any SPF/DKIM record, if you have had them before, kindly double-check and re-add in the DNS tab of Cloudflare dashboard.

Just for the reference and double-check, usually, the MX record should point to a hostname such as mail , and the A (or CNAME ) type record for that hostname mail should be set to :grey: (DNS Only) at the DNS tab of Cloudflare dashboard.

Furthermore, in your email client, you should use mail.domain.com for POP3/IMAP/SMTP.

May I suggest checking below article if your e-mail records (usually the A mail and the MX record) are configured properly while you are using Cloudflare for your domain name:

2 Likes

Hi fritex

Thank you, for the reply, appreciate it.

I have added back in the SPF/DKIM records going by the screenshot of the DNS records on the original host, hopefully I have done it correctly.

I have attached the screenshot of the updated DNS records if ok to make sure it looks correct

1 Like

Thanks for feedback :slight_smile:

Great! Looks good from now on.