DS implementation confusion

Hello… I’ve had Couldflare for 3 months and did not have diagnostic errors earlier, but now have errors for DNSSEC and DS configuration. I used their helpful pull down menu for copying and pasting, cut the second Item has me stumped… it says: Name: use @ for root. WHAT DOES THIS MEAN?

Because there is all kinds of catastrophic language about doing this wrong, it’s got me paranoid. Is this something I need to deal with? If so, how? I’m a newbie, but read all the articles which don’t explain what this means.

Thank you!

Assuming your root domain (other word for “APEX Domain”) is “domain.com

then you dont have to type in “domain.com” but you can simply use the character “@” and it will render as “domain.com” in your example “@” will render as “marcicurtis.com”. This will help to not have any typo when wanting to write complex domain names and to not mix things up

Also for the DS Entry please implement it at your registrar, if CloudFlare is your registrar then fine, but chances are that CloudFlare is not your registrar and then you must implement it there, where you are hosting the Domain.

Just checked. Your registrar seems to be “Network Solutions, LLC”. This is where you host the actual domain. Contact them and provide them with the given infos from CloudFlare about DNSSEC

They are not errors, take that more as a prompt. DNSSEC records are entered with your registrar. Cloudflare give you a DS record to give to your registrar.

There are situations where you would need to create a DS record in your Cloudflare account, but never at the root.

While I’m a strong supporter of DNSSEC, configuring it incorrectly can have an impact on your domain. Proceed with caution.

2 Likes

Thanks, Martin :slight_smile:
Just to check… I would fill that out as “[email protected]” or simply just “marcicurtis.com”?