Domain transfer from GoDaddy stalled

Hi all,

I’ve been using CF for quite a few years but this is the first time I’ve ever needed support so I hope one of you gurus will be able to help me out!

I’m trying to transfer a domain (gsl.live) from GoDaddy to CF. The CF end shows auth code accepted and waiting on Authorization from GoDaddy to complete. The GoDaddy interface does not show transfer pending (just Active) and when I talk to them they say the domain is unlocked and ready for transfer but CF haven’t initiated it - I need to talk to CF.

I’ve cancelled and re-started the transfer 3 times now. The first time GD conceded it was
a fault at their end and that they have rectified it. I’ve monitored for updates at both ends and cannot find any reason why the transfer is not happening.

In the meantime I transferred a .com over in about 2 hrs, no problem.

I am mystified. Can anyone offer any suggestion as to how I might trouble-shoot the issue or pinpoint where the block is? I suspect it’s still at the GD end but I can’t be sure and I don’t know how to prove it - it’s a mysterious process!

Thanks,
Tim

It would appear as if your domain had expired and was renewed by the current registrar but that will also imply that you won’t be able to transfer it for now but will have to renew it with your current registrar. Only sixty days later (assuming the .live registry has similar rules as ICANN) you’ll be able to transfer it.

Generally speaking, one should transfer a domain well before it is about to expire.

1 Like

Hi @sandro thanks for looking at this.

I initiated the first transfer when I got the renewal notice from GD for $150+ (!?!) and before the domain expired. However that was blocked by a technical error at the GD end. GD confirmed the issue was then fixed and I’ve since tried twice more.

I asked GD about whether the expiry would affect transfer out and they said no, that used to be the case but the rules changed a while ago.